LEAF International has announced the LEAF Awards 2016 Winners. The LEAF (Leading European Architecture Forum) Awards is an annual awards ceremony founded in 2001 and now brings together leading architects, designers, developers and suppliers operating around the world.

It recognises innovative architectural design projects and celebrates excellence in building design on an international basis. Every year each entry project is judged within its specific category by a leading panel of esteemed industry experts from around the world.

Typically the LEAF Awards receives over 200 entries from a variety of architectural practices with recently completed or almost completed building design projects.

It gives architects and designers big and small the opportunity to have their projects judged on a level playing field and recognized by the industry’s leading design elite, peers and media

With an audience of more than 100+ leading senior architect figures, the 2016 LEAF Awards convened to celebrate excellence in design and construction and network with the world’s elite architectural community.

The 2016 event took place on Friday 14th October at the Millennium Gloucester Hotel.

The jury for the 2016 awards was made up of Carlo Castelli (AECOM), Michael Clark (AEDAS RHWL), Alan Crawford (Crawford Partnership Architects), Afroditi Krassa (AfroditiKrassa), Firas Hnoosh (Perkins+Will), Lukasz Platkowski (Gensler), Michele Pasca di Magliano (Zaha Hadid Architects), Paolo Rossi (Skidmore, Owings & Merrill), and Rysia Suchecka (NBBJ).

LEAF Awards 2016 Winners are:

Leaf Awards 2016 overall winner

Ian Ritchie Architects Ltd., Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour at UCL, London, UK

Mixed-Use Building of the Year

Fraser Brown MacKenna Architects, Pembury Circus, London, UK

Residential Building-Single Occupancy of the Year (sponsored by KALDEWEI)

First Winner: Studio mk27, Ramp House, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Second Winner: Faulkner Architects, Benvenuto House, Truckee, US

Residential Building-Multiple Occupancy of the Year (sponsored by KALDEWEI)

David Chipperfield Architects, Xixi Wetland Estate, Hangzhou, China

International Interior Design Award (sponsored by ALESSI)

Claudio Silvestrin Architects, Cannon Lane House, London, UK

Commercial Building of the Year

5+1AA architectures with JPMorgan and Constructa Urban Systems, Marseilles Docks, Marseille, France

Hospitality Building of the Year (sponsored by ABB)

Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture, Waldorf Astoria Beijing, Beijing, China

Refurbishment of the Year (sponsored by PRIME)

Arch Studio, Tea House in Hutong, Beijing, China

Public Building of the Year (sponsored by COLCOM GROUP)

gpy arquitectos, Faculty of Fine Arts, University of La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain

Best Sustainable Development (sponsored by GIRA)

Form4 Architecture , Hanover Page Mill, Palo Alto, US

Future Building – Drawing Board of the Year (sponsored by ABB)

Gottlieb Paludan Architects, BIO4, Copenhagen, Denmark

Future Building – Under Construction of the Year (sponsored by ABB)

Henning Larsen Architects, Kiruna City Hall – The Crystal, Kiruna, Sweden

Urban Design of the Year

Perkins + Will, Qatar Research And Development Complex, Doha, Qatar

Best Façade Design and Engineering

Ian Ritchie Architects Ltd., Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour at UCL London, UK

Developer and Development Project of the Year

Land Securities with Fletcher Priest Architects, One New Ludgate, London, UK

Lifetime Achievement Award 2016

Santiago Calatrava


Photo credit: LEAF International