Interior Design the American leading brand that informs, connects and influences design professionals, has announced the inductees for the Interior Design Hall of Fame 2017. Interior Design’s Hall of Fame, established in 1985, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the design industry, in areas such as architecture, interior design, furniture design and product design. Previous inductees include such legendary figures as Frank Gehry, Antonio Citterio, David Rockwell, Philippe Starck and many more.

The Interior Design Editor in Chief, Cindy Allen, and a committee of previous Hall of Fame members, selected this year Peter Q. Bohlin, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson (Architecture); Mark Zeff, MARKZEFF (Design); Lidewij Edelkoort, Trend Union (Influence); and Robin Klehr Avia, Gensler (Leadership). The ceremony will also include a special tribute to I.M. Pei in honor of his 100th birthday this year, in addition to hosting the prestigious event in a building of his design.

Interior Design Hall of Fame 2017

The Interior Design Hall of Fame 2017 hold on Thursday, November 30th  took place at the River Pavilion located in the I.M. Pei & Partners-designed Jacob K. Javits Convention Center and it has been hosted by Allen and Interior Design Publisher, Carol Cisco.
This 33rd annual Hall of Fame celebration marks the first time that the Awards will be hosted at the River Pavilion. Previously, the ceremony was held in the Grand Ballroom at the Waldorf Astoria, however, due to a three-year renovation project, Interior Design sought out a fresh, new space. The elegant, 45,000 square-foot, glass-enclosed River Pavilion is located on the 4th floor of the Center, and features stunning views of the Hudson River.

“The alchemy of finding a modern setting designed by a true icon on the occasion of his 100th anniversary was irresistible! We are thrilled to bring the Hall of Fame to this very special location, and to honor this wide-ranging group of architects, interior designers and industry luminaries whose talent, vision and dedication contribute to design’s impact everywhere” Cindy Allen.

Interior Design Hall of Fame 2017

Editor in Chief Cindy Allen with inductees Lidewij Edelkoort of Trend Union and Robin Klahr Avia of Gensler

An exceptional group of more than 1,200 hots among industry leaders including designers, architects, manufacturers and design supporters attended to honor the 2017 inductees at the black-tie event.

“This year, we’ve focused on the categories leading our sphere – workplace, hospitality, retail and residential – as well as our inductees’ collective design work, which enhances the lives of their clients as well as the world around us. We are thrilled to welcome Sunbrella and Sunbrella Contract as integral partners and our major sponsor for another consecutive year, and look forward to celebrating their creative vision through the entry hall design.” Carol Cisco