European Product Design Award (ePDA) kicks off its first annual competition this year. ePDA is on the hunt for the best product designs, concepts, and prototypes. The competition is open to design teams, studios, individual designers and students around the world.

European Product Design Award welcomes both up-and-coming designers and renowned design companies to submit their new, innovative and ground-breaking products online to compete for the title Product Designer of the Year. Submissions are open for both conceptual and already manufactured designs. Young designers who graduated within the last five years are particularly encouraged to apply.

Entries will be carefully evaluated by the jury panel composed of international experts, journalists, and designers. The online selection process will pay attention to functionality, innovation, environmental awareness, and other criteria.

Victorious designs will receive a coveted prize and a seal of quality to use for publicity and marketing purposes as a proof of their achievement in the creative field. Additional benefits are online promotion through European Product Design Award communications channels, exclusive press releases and more.

The Jury is composed of several design professionals as: Bart Ruijpers (VP of Design and Branding at EOS productsLawrence Abrahamson (Design Director at IDEO NY), Hayo Gebauer (product designer), Yuka Yoneda (Managing Editor Inhabitat), Esther Patterson (founder and designer of Curiousa & Curiousa), Jaime Derringer (Founder + Executive Editor Design Milk | Dog Milk), Diane Simpson-Little (Artist, Designer and Creative Educator University of Sussex), Waikit Chung (Founder & Editor Product Design Hub),  Lasse Ærthøj-Jensen (CEO of BoConcept Los Angeles), Micha Daniels (Founder / Partner daniels + erdwiens industrial design), Christiane Bausback (Head of Design and Managing Director of N+P Industrial Design), Jon Marshall (Co-Founder and Creative Director at Map),  Davide Radaelli (Davide Radaelli Design Studio), Greg Finney (Founder/CEO 2Modern), Derrick Lin (Chief Editor & Founder Packaging Of The World), Alicia Graham (Co-Founder and Principal at Big Tomorrow), Christian Doering (Creative Director/Head of Design KOREFE)

Winners will be honoured and celebrated at the reception at the European Parliament in Brussels in March 2017, where they will be called on stage to receive their trophy and certificate.

“I am excited to see the new talent and creativity that this year’s competition will bring us,” says Hossein Farmani, the Founder and President of European Product Design Award. “Product design can have a substantial impact on our everyday life and we are opening the awards to see what the future will look like,” he added.

16 submission categories cover a broad range of design fields:

  • Children Products
  • Design for Society
  • Education
  • Home Interior Products
  • Flora and Fauna
  • Material Design
  • Illumination
  • Sustainable Living/Environmental Preservation
  • Life Science Design
  • Media and Home Electronics
  • Office Equipment
  • Outdoor and Exercise Equipment
  • Packaging Design
  • Toys
  • Transportation
  • Other product designs

Registration periods
Extended Early Bird: December 16, 2016
Regular Deadline: January 31, 2017
Final Deadline: February 15, 2017
Gala: March 20, 2017